Focal length and angle of view

Focal Length and Angle of View

Using my back garden as the scene for this first exercise, I took three images at different focal lengths: 18mm, 55mm (my angle of view) and 200mm.

I measured my angle of view by looking through the viewfinder at the scene with one eye and at the scene (unaided) with the other eye and changing the focal length until the two scenes matched. I then recorded the focal length.

The following are the settings I used for each image to achieve the correct exposure:

Focal length – 18mm
Shutter speed – 1/160s
Aperture – f/9

Focal length – 55mm
Shutter speed – 1/160s
Aperture – f/11

Focal length – 200mm
Shutter speed – 1/160s
Aperture – f/9

After processing, I held each print up to match with that of the surrounding scene and recorded the distance between my eye and the image. The results are as follows:

18mm – 180mm distance

55mm – 555mm distance

200mm – 2000mm distance

Leave a Reply

