Cropping

Cropping

This exercise required three already-taken images that I took from my portfolio to demonstrate the many ways you can crop a photograph. I have chosen the following images: a plastic garden chair, a chameleon and a derelict shed. All of the images were taken with a Nikon D300 with a variety of lenses.

Set 1 – Garden Chair

I have cropped this image in such a way that the chair was no longer placed centrally in the frame. I have taken away the left part of the image, some of the grass and the top and tried to frame the chair with the bush above. Regardless of the fact that I have only cropped it a little, it has totally changed the image resulting in a more concentrated photograph. I do still prefer the original because it seems to have a little more of a gritty energy and interest as well as a diversity in textures and colours from the parts that were cropped.

 

 

Set 2 – Chameleon

There is a lot of empty space in this image which I think accentuates the depth of field. I have tried to crop the picture so that the chameleon is still in the right-hand side of the frame, I know technically this is unbalanced but it works very well in the original but not so well in the cropped version. Again, cropping this image has put more of an emphasis on the subject which is a natural when zooming in – this is the nature of filling the frame.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Set 3 – Derelict Shed in Winter

 

I think that a square, tighter crop suits this image better than the original, although, I should have retained the whole tree on the left-hand side. With a tighter crop, the image seems to have a more intense feel to it and the original portrays desolation,

accentuating the harsh climate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Conclusion

This exercise has made me consider revising all of the photographs in my portfolio to see if I can improve them

with a different crop. It has also taught me to try a few different crops in my future images to ensure that I choose the best one, normally the first crop I do is the one I stick with but I think that this habit has now been abolished.

Leave a Reply

